How do I remove a device from MDM? - SimpleMDM

You may have noticed that things look a little different. SimpleMDM is now part of the PDQ.com family and we are in the process of moving all of the SimpleMDM Knowledge Base articles to their new home. If you notice any links that are broken or if anything does not work as expected, please email support@simplemdm.com and let us know!

By default, Apple allows the MDM profile to be removed from devices via Settings at any time. However, there are ways to enroll devices that restrict this capability, as discussed in�this article.

To fully remove a device from all forms of management, the necessary process will ultimately depend on how the device became enrolled in MDM.

If the device was enrolled manually or using Apple Configurator:�there are two ways that devices can be unenrolled.

To manually unenroll an iOS device:

  1. Open Settings on the device.
  2. Go to General > Device Management.
  3. Select the MDM profile.
  4. Select 'Remove Management'.

To manually unenroll a macOS device:

  1. Open System Preferences.
  2. Go to the Profiles section.
  3. Select the main MDM profile.
  4. Click the "-" button and follow the prompts to confirm the unenrollment.

To unenroll a device via SimpleMDM:

  1. Click the device name.
  2. Click 'Actions'.
  3. Select 'Remove'. This will send a command to the device instructing it to delete the MDM profile. Selecting 'Unenroll' will also unenroll the device but will not delete the device record from your account.

Note:�if the device has Supervised Mode enabled and you would like to disable it, you will need to erase the device even after removing it from MDM.

If the device was enrolled using Automated Enrollment with Apple Business/School Manager (formerly DEP enrollment):�there are additional steps required to remove management.

  1. Release the device from your Apple Business Manager account:�
    https://support.apple.com/guide/apple-business-manager/release-devices-asmec4d28461/web.�
    Note:�this step must happen first - otherwise the device will automatically re-enroll after being erased.
  2. Delete the device record from SimpleMDM.
  3. Erase the device.
Still have a question or want to share what you have learned? Visit our Community to get help and collaborate with others.