How to handle duplicate names synced from AD when in mixed mode?

Comments

5 comments

  • Mark Myers

    Don't forget the primary rule: "It's always DNS."

    Do you have static DNS records for the hosts? Is scavenging disabled on the DNS servers?

    I have found that PDQ Inventory heavily relies on DNS, so check there first. 

    1
    Comment actions Permalink
  • Craig Mohr

    Uh I am confused. This is about a PC being deleted from AD and a completely different PC being renamed to old PC's name. In this case in mixed mode the 2nd undeleted PC is not synced with the updated name. As soon as mixed mode is turned off the first PC is deleted from inventory and the 2nd PC is updated with the new name (same name as deleted PC). Since you apparently cannot manually rename a PC that is not synced it appears there is no way to retain these historical PC's other than renaming them before deleting them. Which realistically will rarely happen.

    1
    Comment actions Permalink
  • Mark Myers

    My apologies, I misread the question.

    I do not use mixed mode, but maybe PDQ does not allow duplicate computer names. This is just a quick thought. 

    Again, I do not use mixed mode, so I have not tested this idea, nor searched PDQ support.

    1
    Comment actions Permalink
  • Luke Nichols

    As far as I can tell PDQ Inventory essentially treats the computer name as the primary key for its database. If the computer name changes it treats it as a completely new computer, and if you rename a computer to the same name used by an old computer it will overwrite that old data.

    If you really want to retain that old data you would probably have to change your naming policies to stop re-using computer names or maybe pull comprehensive reports or a SQL export of that data before renaming the new computer.

    0
    Comment actions Permalink
  • Craig Mohr

    That was my original assumption but I no longer believe that. Why? Because its smart enough to identify when a PC has been renamed. If it used the PC name as the primary key it would just create a new object any time a PC was renamed and AD was synced again. I suspect it probably uses the machine uuid.

    Our naming policies are that a PC is named for the user without a bunch of extra junk on the end so it's easy to identify its owner and purpose, remove machines that are obsolete for licensing purposes,  and connect to for support when needed. Those won't change.

    0
    Comment actions Permalink

Please sign in to leave a comment.