Important Notice: On February 29th, this community will be put into read-only mode. All existing posts will remain but customers will be unable to add new posts or comment on existing. Please feel to join our Community Discord for any questions and discussions.

PDQ Deploy and Inventory

My applications were working fine about a month ago. Now every time I attempt to open the application from my desktop it tries to open but never does. I thought maybe something was blocking it, but it wasn't. or maybe a recent windows update. 

At this point, I think I'm going to just install a new version. 

Question is, if I install a newer version of deploy/Inventory will I lose all my saved data. My database? Will it corrupt my database/

or will it all update with the install?

 

Currently running vs 17.1.0.0

Latest version now 19.3.42.0.

 

Any suggestions? 

Thank you ! 

1

Comments

5 comments
Date Votes
  • You will not lose your data. Deploy and Inventory keep all of their data when they update. Also, they create a backup of the database during the update. If the update doesn't help, I recommend reaching out to support@pdq.com.

    1
  • So I attempted to run the install, and during the backing up stage I got the following error.

    "Database Access Failure" There was a problem accessing the PDQ Deploy database. The even log is full

     

    0
  • Is your hard drive full? If it's not, do you have your Event Log configured to "Do not overwrite events"? The default is "Overwrite events as needed".

    Event Viewer --> Windows Logs --> right-click on Applications --> Properties

    0
  • Outstanding! So the update worked. My drive was full, I deleted all the event viewer logs and I went ahead into properties and set to "Do not overwrite events" I was able to log in and still see my setup.

    Now, before I had enterprise mode, now that I have updated it to the latest version. It says Free mode. How can I change it back to Enterprise mode. Do I need the license key? 

    0
  • I went ahead into properties and set to "Do not overwrite events"

    I recommend setting it to "Overwrite events as needed". The error you mentioned in your last post made me think it might be set to "Do not overwrite events".

    It says Free mode. How can I change it back to Enterprise mode.

    PDQ licenses have to be renewed yearly. The local features of the product keep working with an expired license until the next update. I recommend logging into your account at https://sales.pdq.com/CustomerLogon or contacting sales@pdq.com.

    0

Please sign in to leave a comment.

Didn't find what you were looking for?

New post